What people are saying about Tear Soup


Life Changing

5 out of 5 stars  

March 4, 2015

This book was given to me as an adult after a loss in my life and it was instrumental in my healthy grieving process. I have given countless copies of it to friends experiencing different losses and have received only wonderful feedback from adults and kids alike. The information is easily accessible (good for those who are grieving) but deep and layered so that every time you pull it out, you connect with something new. Truly applicable for any loss. Addresses all of the stages of grieving as well as self care and managing the responses of others to your grief all in a thoughtfully illustrated story that really feels like hearing the story of a good friend rather than a manual on how to work through grief. This book is a wise best friend- a place of safety and validation and encouragement for all of us!

By J.B.


This book deserves about ten stars!

5 out of 5 stars  

December 29, 2014

This is an extraordinary book. It is a wonderful parable about grieving, accessible to children and adults alike. I have given it as a gift, read it more than once myself, recommended it to libraries and to grieving friends and family. The illustrations and the story are gentle and generous. I wish there were more stars to give it.

By M.F.


I love this book!

5 out of 5 stars  

December 18, 2014

An excellent book that communicates essential understandings of grief in a way that captivates and speaks to the heart! I facilitate a support group for parents who have experienced the tragedy of perinatal loss, and this book is one of my highest recommendations. I'm pleased to have it as one of the resources we feature in our lending library.

By C.M.


Excellent

5 out of 5 stars  

March 14, 2014

This is a children's book but I recommend it to anyone and everyone. I have given several as gifts to newly grieving moms. Everyone I know of who has read it agrees that it is spot on in regard to feelings of grief. Every soup label, recipe etc. has a message on it. I highly recommend it. I wish I could give it 10 stars.

By V.J.


Grief

5 out of 5 stars  

January 22, 2014

The very best book on grief/loss I have ever read. Within 4 years I lost 3 siblings and my mother and father in law. Many books on grief that were given to me required too much thought and too much work. This book is very simple, nothing overwhelming about it, yet it reaches to the very core of your pain and gives you permission to grieve in your own way taking your time to sort through your thoughts. This book will touch your heart and help you begin to heal.

By M.C.


Wonderful way to show someone who's grieving that you care

5 out of 5 stars 

April 4, 2013

My neighbor gave this to me after my father died, and it touched me so much that I bought one for my mom and one for my sister. I read several books on death and dying at that time, and the simple, sweet way this book was written, plus the downhome illustrations, made this one my favorite. It's great for adults, and I think it would also be good for older children (maybe 10+) who are dealing with the loss of someone they love.

By N.M.


Tear Soup - An excellent book to help while grieving

5 out of 5 stars 
 

February 28, 2013

This is by far the BEST book I know of for offering comfort, insight and guidance while grieving. Don't let the illustrations fool you. This is a book accessible to people of all ages. As a Clinical Social Worker, I've used it with elementary school children and folks in their 50's. I use it myself, and offer it to my closest friends and family. It's all the best advise distilled into one, thin, phenomenal book!

By C.S.


Hello and Thank You

5 out of 5 stars 
 

December 5, 2012

I want to let you know how much I love you book, "Tear Soup". I lost my mother in April, and some days are so hard, other days are OK.  Your book just put it all together.  I have the greatest admiration for you and all you have done for those who are lucky enough to find your book.  I plan to treasure my copy and share it and other volumes of it to those who can benefit from it.  I discovered it on a tough day for me, I am amazed how well you were able to express all that I feel and the drawings are perfect.  I am a struggling artist and appreciate the art throughout the book. You are truly special people, My sincerest Thanks and Appreciation

By M.H.


Very best book for grief

5 out of 5 stars 

February 23, 2012

When my brother passed away several years ago, my elderly mom was inconsolable. I bought her an armload of grief books -- Amazon's best recommendations -- and she diligently read every one. Each time I'd ask, "Did it help?" She'd shrug her shoulders. She'd heard it all before.

Then I sent her Tear Soup. She read it over and over again. It never left her bedside table. As her grief eased, it got buried under other books, but it was never out of reach.

Last week my mom's cat died -- a beautiful animal who'd been her constant companion through my brother's illness and her grief. One of the first things she said was, "Where's my book?" "Right here," I answered, "On your bedside table." 

By V.R.  


Comfort food for those who grieve

5 out of 5 stars 

February 16, 2012

A friend gave me Tear Soup after my husband died. Reading it was like eating homemade soup made with love. Definitely food for the heart and soul. I have subsequently given copies to friends who have lost loved ones.

By B.  


Great Book

5 out of 5 stars 

January 18, 2012

This is a great book. I work at a grief center and I use this book with children and adults. It offers a really interesting parallel between the work of grief and cooking something from a recipe. The main character, Grandy, experiences a terrible loss and after it happens, she sets out to make a pot of "tear soup" from scratch. She is wise and realizes that no one can make this soup for her and all of the ingredients she adds need to be from her own recipe. It makes a nice comparison with how grief itself is so unique and individual and needs to be done in a way that works for each person. I have used this book for years and highly recommend it to anyone working through grief or anyone helping the grieving.

By G.G.  


Tear Soup is Wonderful!!

5 out of 5 stars 
 

December 31, 2011

Tear Soup was sent to me by a dear friend after my mother passed. It is an AMAZING book. It brings such comfort and offers help and resources. I ordered one for my daughter and one for a friend. Everyone should have this in their personal library. 

By M.M.R.  (Florida)

 

A lifeline in a time of madness

5 out of 5 stars 

November 28, 2011

In 2007, my wife and I went through the saddest and most terrible journey of our lives with the sudden death of our son. Many friends sought to comfort us, and we soon had a foot-tall stack of high-minded books about "the grieving process" and "coping with tragedy" and so on. As we struggled just to breathe normally and get out of bed, these well intentioned books were all utterly impenetrable. After a life-altering loss, everything must be rebuilt, relearned and rediscovered, and our minds simply could not maintain the focus for a 200-page intellectual journey through grief. 

In that time, this book, "Tear Soup", was the lifeline that connected us to hope of a better day on the other side of the grieving process. A 20-minute read with uncomplicated language and beautiful, comforting illustrations was all we could absorb and everything we needed. We must have read it 20 or 30 times in those first months after the great sadness. 

Since then, I have had two friends go through similar unspeakable losses, and in each case, a copy of Tear Soup has been my first and only gift, and my only attempt at comfort beyond mourning with those who mourn. Thank you and God bless you to the creators of this book. We will never cease to be grateful for the soft glow of light you gave us during that time of deepest darkness.

By R.K.N.  (California)


What a comfort this book is!

5 out of 5 stars 
 

November 10, 2011

I first read this book after my husband passed away - It made me cry but it was a great comfort. I read it over and over and each time I took something different away from the comfort of the words. It still makes me cry, but it is a good cry. I have purchased a number of these books to give to others who have lost their mate. I have had many thanks for the comfort that it gives, which makes me thankful all over again. Please consider reading it and giving it to someone else - it will make them feel better and it will make you feel better, too.

By T.P.  (Washington)


Tear Soup

5 out of 5 stars 
 

October 21, 2011

What an excellent book to give or receive if someone has experienced the death of one they loved. The text and art work appeals to young and old alike. The back pages give great tips on resources for the bereaved.

By V.  


Best Book for Grieving Adults

5 out of 5 stars 
 

October 11, 2011

This is the best book for grieving adults I've ever read. It puts what is going on inside in simple terms with incredible meaning. While the book is intended, I think, to explain the grieving process to children through the example of a grandmother explaining the making of "tear soup" to her grandson, this book resonates with adults and gives them permission to grieve in their own way in their own time. When we are caught up in grief, we often want to return to simpler, easier times. What better tool than a seemingly children's book. And the illustrations are wonderful. As a pastor I keep at least three of these on hand at all times.

By Pastor E.C.  


Wonderful!

5 out of 5 stars 

July 11, 2011

Although this reads like a children's book, with lovely colorful pictures, it has a message that reaches out to all ages. A wonderful book-- highly recommended.

By D.M.  (Iowa)


Tear Soup

5 out of 5 stars 

June 5, 2011

If you are grieving or you know someone who is you should get this book for yourself and for them. It is a life saver.

By S.B.


Tear Soup

5 out of 5 stars 

June 5, 2011

I am a recent widow. Of all the books I have read regarding grief, this is my very favorite. I ordered several to pass along to friends/family experiencing a loss.

By D.


Very Helpful For All Ages

5 out of 5 stars 

April 2, 2011

This book isn't just for kids, I'm 20 and recently lost my mom and it helped me out tremendously. Now I'm recommending it to everyone I know who lost someone. Its a great buy!

By S.A. 


So Healing - Not Just for "Big" Grief

5 out of 5 stars 
 

April 16, 2007

I discovered this book a few months after my best friend died in an unexpected and devastating manner. Her family doesn't live close to me and I felt like I was grieving her loss all alone. This beautiful book shares truth about loss and the process of dealing with it in our lives. I shared this book with a friend who lost her father and a very dear friend within 14 months. She loved it too and passed it on to another friend on the anniversary week of her teenage son's death. 

I love that this book recognizes and validates: the less obvious reasons that people grieve, that everyone grieves differently, that grief comes in different sizes, and that we can revisit grief and loss. A must have for every home library because everyone has loss in their life.

By Teacher L. (Utah)


Modern Fable for Those Who Mourn

4 out of 5 stars 
 

August 4, 2004

In this modern fable, accompanied with full color illustrations, a woman who has suffered a terrible (unnamed) loss cooks up a special batch of "tear soup," blending the unique ingredients of her life into the grief process. Along the way she dispenses a recipe of sound advice for those who are in mourning or know someone who has suffered a loss. With more than 60,000 copies in print, Tear Soup is one of the most popular grief resources available for children and adults.

By C.B.  


My Favorite Book for Anyone with a Loss

5 out of 5 stars 

April 22, 2004

Written in a children's book format - with simply worded concepts, wonderfully colored pictures, and a creative idea - this is one of those great books that actually feels written for adults as much as for school-age children.

I've used lots of books on grief in 30 years of practicing psychotherapy. And this is the best! It's written in a way that gives the grieving mind and exhausted spirit a quick, hands-on idea of what's happening, and it gives fabulous permission to every reader to absolutely do your grief "your way."

I've given out perhaps 25 copies. Some come back. Others set out on a journey of their own. And I love that they do. I feel like "the Lupine Lady" (reference to another children's book.)

I'd like to thank the authors, if they ever read their reviewers, for a heart-felt gift to us.

By A.C. (Wyoming)


Recommended for those grieving, or helping someone grieve

5 out of 5 stars 

October 17, 2001

My across-the-street neighbor suddenly passed away, leaving behind a grieving widow and beautiful 6-year old son. I went to the book store and came across this book. There's not a lot out there on grieving for kids. Reading this book, I was moved to tears right there in the bookstore aisle. The pictures are marvelous as is the story. This book tells of 'Grandy', who loses 'someone close'. Especially helpful is that it doesn't specify who the 'someone' is, so it can fit into any situation. Grandy and Grampy are making tear soup. The book tells how people are afraid to approach someone who's grieving, and how people who try to be helpful, sometimes are not. It follows the stages of grief, and how you have to allow yourself all the time you need. In the end, the hardest day comes, and Grandy puts the tear soup away in the freezer to taste now and then. Her grandson says, "What will I do when you die, Grandy?" And she replies, "I'll leave you my recipe for tear soup." Gorgeous. I now keep a copy of this book on hand for those grieving in all walks of life. I've given it to my doctor when his daughter was suddenly killed in an accident, and a copy went to my cousin when her father suddenly died of a heart attack. This book is also useful in reminding all of us that the grieving process is not just about death, but any sort of loss in our life, ranging from a mild disappointment to a "not to be borne" situation.

By J.L. (California)   


Excellent approach to grieving for families

5 out of 5 stars 

October 20, 1999

Tear soup is a wonderfully illustrated children's book for adults written about how we each individually grieve loss in our lives.

The story is about "Grandy," but she could just as easily be me or you, and Grandy has suffered a loss, so Grandy begins to make tear soup. Tear soup cannot be made just out of a can, but is an individual process, as unique as each chef; and only through the soup making can we fully heal and move on.

The full page illustrations through which the text of the story run show an even richer tale of the other people and pets in Grandy's life who interact with her recipe and add a powerful depth to an already touching story which you can't help but relate to your own life.

By A.C.


Click here to read more reviews